Photo by: Tim Abbott

HVA Honors Dennis G. Collins with its 2012 Eliot Wadsworth Greenprint Award

Saturday, October 13, 2012

The Housatonic Valley Association presented its 2012 Eliot Wadsworth Greenprint Award to Dennis G. Collins of Norfolk for his unwavering commitment to the land trust movement and for his leadership and support for a regional approach to land protection in the Litchfield Hills. 

Dennis has been indispensible to the effort to help identify secure the local funding needed to conserve Girl Scout Camp Iwatka in Norfolk, now within $20,000 of its fundraising goal.  He serves on the Litchfield Hills Greenprint's Leadership Advisory Board where he is a strong and steady voice for the importance of bringing all available resources to bear to accomplish regionally significant land protection projects.  He is a board member of Norfolk Land Trust, and one of the very few 100%ers who have attended every national Land Trust Rally since they began in 1985. 

This award is named for its first recipient, Eliot Wadsworth II, whose vision and investment of time and resources helped to lauch the Litchfield Hills Greenprint and who continues to serve as the Chair of its Leadership Advisory Board.  In a letter to Dennis that was read at the award ceremony, Eliot writes;

"I deeply regret that I can not be on hand to share your day of recognition.  I do wish to express my respect and appreciation for your long and continuing contributions to the Litchfield Hills Greenprint and especially to the Norfolk Girl Scouts Project.  Your knowledge, experience, skill, persistance, and powers of communication are a tremendous asset for the future of Litchfield County.  It is both a pleasure and an example to work with you.  Many thanks, and congratulations"

Past recipients of the Eliot Wadsworth Greenprint award include:

2006 - Eliot Wadsworth II
2007 - Ruth Skovran & Pat Mechare of Canaan/Falls Village
2008 - Lou & Elaine Hecht & George Massey & Salisbury Land Trust
2009 - Whitney Hatch for The Trust For Public Land
2010 - William Arnold & Connie Manes for Kent Land Trust
2011 - Hector Prud'Homme & Cornwall Conservation Trust


View all News stories »

Photo by: Tim Abbott